Management and organisation


The project was led by professor, DPhil Birgit Anette Rasmussen (Olsen):

Office: University of Copenhagen at Amager (KUA), room 22.5.36
Phone: +45 35 32 86 37Ring op: +45 35 32 86 37


Permanent and temporary researchers of the central working group
External researchers
Advisory board

The central working group/internal members

The project consists of a central working group at the Department of Nordic Studies and Linguistics, University of Copenhagen, and a number of external members. The central working group consists of:

  • Birgit Anette Rasmussen (Olsen) (head):
  • Oliver Simkin:
    Indo-European, Greek
  • Guus Kroonen:
    Indo-European, Germanic lexicon
  • Benedicte Nielsen Whitehead:
    Indo-European, Italic
  • Thomas Olander:
    Indo-European, Slavic
  • Adam Hyllested:
    Indo-European, Uralic
  • Bjarne Simmelkjær Sandgaard Hansen:
    Indo-European, Germanic morphology

External researchers

The external researchers are listed below. They are presented in more detail at this page.

  • Assistant research professor, Ph.D. Gojko Johansen Barjamovic:
    Department of Cross-Cultural and Regional Studies, University of Copenhagen
    Anatolian, onomastics
  • Postdoc, dr. Bernd Gliwa:
    Chair of Baltic Linguistics, University of Latvia (Riga)
    Mythology, folklore, Baltic
  • Associate professor, Ph.D. George Hinge:
    Institute of Language, Literature and Culture, University of Aarhus
    Greek (koine), Vulgar Latin, theory of science
  • Professor emeritus Anders Hultgård:
    Department of Theology, Uppsala University
    Indo-European religion 
  • Professor Peter Jackson:
    Department for religious studies, University of Tromsø
    Indo-European religion and poetics
  • Clinical associate professor Peter K.A. Jensen:
    Institute of Human Genetics, University of Aarhus:
  • Professor Kristian Kristiansen:
    Department of Archaeology & Ancient History, Göteborgs Universitet
  • Postdoc fellow, Ph.D. Jenny Helena Larsson (2009-2013):
    Department of Baltic languages, Finnish and German, Stockholm University
    Indo-European, Baltic
  • Associate professor, MA Anne Lene Melheim:
    Dept. of Archaeology, Conservation and Historical Studies, University of Oslo:
  • Professor, dr. Peter Schrijver:
    Department of Modern Languages, Utrecht University
    Linguistic contacts, substrata, Celtic, Italic
  • Professor emeritus, Ph.D. Theo Vennemann:
    German Philology, LMU Munich
    Linguistic contacts, substrata, Germanic
  • Professor, dr. Gordon Whittaker:
    Seminar für Romanische Philologie, University of Göttingen
    "Euphratic" (= Indo-European borrowings in Sumerian)
  • Professor, head of section Einar Østmo:
    Archaeological Section, Museum of Cultural History, University of Oslo:

See also the list of external lecturers here.

Advisory board

An international advisory board has been appointed for advice and evaluation. The members are listed below and they are presented in more detail here.

  • Professor Douglas Q. Adams:
    Department of English, University of Idaho
  • Professor, dr. Michael Janda:
    Institut für Indogermanische Sprachwissenschaft, University of Münster
  • Professor Joshua Katz:
    Department of Classics, Princeton University
  • Professor, dr. Rosemarie Lühr, president of the Indogermanische Gesellschaft/Society of Indo-European Studies:
    Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena
  • Professor Brent Vine:
    Department of Classics, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)
  • Professor, DPhil Andreas Willi:
    Faculty of Classics, University of Oxford

An annual board meeting in Copenhagen was held in the years 2009-2013. Several of the members of the board gave a talk on these occasions:

Til toppen